Infrastructure Development Committee approves 2 resolutions in second regular meeting

by Jun 6, 2022News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — Officials and members of the Infrastructure Development Committee (IDCom), a sectoral committee under the Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) being chaired by the Ministry of Public Works (MPW) and co-chaired by the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA), approved two (2) resolutions during its second regular meeting for 2022 on Tuesday, May 31.

Said meeting was presided by Director General Danilo Ong who represented MPW Minister Eduard Guerra, together with BPDAโ€™s Research and Development and Special Projects Bureau (RDSPB) Director Kadil A. Sulaik who represented Director General Engr. Mohajirin T. Ali.

In his message, DG Ong emphasized to focus and concentrate on the task towards the development of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

โ€œWe are given another 3 years to accomplish our aspirations for the development in the Bangsamoro region. We need to work hard to achieve this mission of ours,โ€ he said.

Further, said meeting highlights the committeeโ€™s approval for IDCom Resolution No.1 series of 2022 creating a โ€œSub-Committee on Transportโ€ under the IDCom.

Sub-Committee on Transport will facilitate the concerns of IDCom by dedicating focus on transport sub-sector which includes road transport, air transport, water transport, rail transport, and land transport that will contribute to the speedy formulation and implementation of policies, plans, programs, and projects as well as to the prompt preparation of investment programs, budgets, and reports.

Moreover, the committee has agreed that the Sub-Committee on Transport will be chaired by the Ministry of Transportation and Communication (MOTC) and vice chaired by the Ministry of Interior and Local Government (MILG).

Said committee also approved IDCom Resolution No. 4 series of 2022 requesting the BEDC for the inclusion of the Ministry of Finance, Budget and Management (MFBM), Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), and Bangsamoro Information and Communications Technology Office (BICTO) as additional regular members to the IDCom.

MFBM will be responsible for the formulation, institutionalization, and administration of fiscal policies in coordination with other concerned ministries and agencies of the Bangsamoro Government.

Meanwhile, MOST and BICTO have plans, programs, and activities that involve development and implementation of comparative infrastructure innovations, both physical and system. (BPDA-BARMM)