BEDC approves 6 resolutions in 1st regular meeting for CY 2022

by Apr 15, 2022News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — The Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) chaired by BARMM Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim, approved six (6) resolutions endorsed by its sectoral committees held on Wednesday, April 13 at the office of the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA) and via Zoom video teleconference.

The convening of the BEDC was the first conducted meeting for calendar year 2022 that aims to discuss and address issues and concerns which are needing appropriate action from the Council.

๐€๐ฉ๐ฉ๐ซ๐จ๐ฏ๐ž๐ ๐ซ๐ž๐ฌ๐จ๐ฅ๐ฎ๐ญ๐ข๐จ๐ง๐ฌ ๐Ÿ๐จ๐ซ ๐ฌ๐ž๐œ๐ญ๐จ๐ซ๐š๐ฅ ๐œ๐จ๐ฆ๐ฆ๐ข๐ญ๐ญ๐ž๐ž๐ฌ

The Council adopted the creation of the Brunei Darussalam Indonesia Malaysia – the Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) Economic Growth Linkages Sub-Committee under the Economic Development Committee (EDCom) to provide the mechanism for greater coordination of BARMM programs, projects, and activities for BIMP-EAGA.

Also, the creation of the said sub-committee aims to enhance and strengthen collaboration and partnership of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) with the network of the National and Mindanao agencies and institutions involved in the BIMP-EAGA.

Deputy Executive Director ASec. Romeo Montenegro of the Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA), provided latest updates and development in BIMP-EAGA and cited the need for institutionalized set-up within the BARMM.

Following the presentation and discussion, it was agreed that the composition and structure of the sub-committee will be subject for review to ensure that the members shall correspond to the roles of key national government agencies.

Further, the Council approved the resolution on Bangsamoro Regional Coconut Farmers and Industry Development Plan (BDCFIDP), 2022-2026 and its endorsement to the Philippine Coconut Authority Board for inclusion to the National Coconut Farmers and Industry Development Plan (CFIDP).

Marina B. Wahab, Regional Manager III of the Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA-BARMM) underscored that the CFIDP aims to increase income and productivity of coconut farmers, poverty alleviation, education and social equity, and rehabilitation and modernization of the coconut industry.

Moreover, Atty. Al-Rashid Balt, Director General of the Ministry of Public Order and Safety (MPOS), presented the proposed resolution for the inclusion of the National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM-BARMM) and Philippine Coast Guard – BARMM District (PCG-BARMM) as additional members of the Peace, Public Order, Safety and Security Committee (PPOSSCom) chaired by MPOS Minister Hussein P. Muรฑoz. The said resolution was approved by the Council.

Police Lieutenant Colonel Kenneth H. Mission of PRO-BAR, presented to the Council the resolution endorsing Police Regional Office โ€“ Bangsamoro Autonomous Regionโ€™s (PRO-BAR) list of proposed programs and projects for inclusion in the Philippine National Police (PNP) Budget Proposal for fiscal year 2023. This resolution was further adopted by the Council.

โ€œBEDC officially endorses the list of programs and projects of the PRO-BAR for the 2023 budget,โ€ stressed Chief Minister Ebrahim as he expressed the regional governmentโ€™s full support to PRO-BAR.

Meanwhile, the Council approved the creation of BARMM Sub-Committee on Internal and International Migration (BSCIIMD) under the Social Development Committee (SDCom) chaired by Atty. Raissa H. Jajurie, Minister of the Ministry of Social Services and Development (MSSD).

Accordingly, BSCIIMD will coordinate the development of a research program for the conduct of policy studies related to international migration and development.

Through the SDCom, the Council also approved the resolution on the creation of the Bangsamoro Committee on Disability Affairs (BCDA).

โ€œThis sub-committee will draft policies and propose legislations concerning the rights and well-being of the persons with disabilities (PWDs),โ€ Jajurie said.

The BEDC, commonly known as the โ€˜Councilโ€™ is composed of the Chief Minister as chair, BPDA as vice-chair and head of secretariat, Senior Minister, MFBM Minister, Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament Speaker, Majority and Minority Floor Leaders, all provincial governors and city mayors, five sectoral committee chairs, and five private sector representatives in the Bangsamoro region. (BPDA-BARMM)