Energy Infrastructure Development Sub-Committee holds 1st regular meeting

by Dec 9, 2021News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — Following the Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council’s (BEDC) approval for the creation of the Energy Infrastructure Development Sub-Committee under the Infrastructure Development Committee (IDCom) last February 15, 2021, said sub-committee conducted its first regular meeting today, December 9, to discuss energy-related issues and concerns in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) held at Nursalam Hall, Alnor Convention Center, this city.

Today’s meeting was presided by Engr. Nasiri Abas, Director of the Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Energy (MENRE) Energy Bureau, who represented the sub-committee chairperson, Minister Abdulraof Macacua, together with Engr. Mohajirin T. Ali, sub-committee vice chairperson and Director General of the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA).

Sub-committee’s Resolution No. 1 which provides for the adoption of its ‘House Rules’ was presented during the meeting, highlighting its composition and function to primarily coordinate the formulation and implementation of policies, plans, programs, and projects related to the exploration, development, and utilization of energy resource in the Bangsamoro region.

Members of the sub-committee include the Ministries of Public Works (MPW), Interior and Local Government (MILG), Transportation and Communication (MOTC), Agriculture, Fisheries and Agrarian Reform (MAFAR), Indigenous People’s Affair (MIPA), Science and Technology (MOST), and Human Settlements and Development (MHSD).

Furthermore, MENRE discussed the energy development salient points in the BARMM, as well as the current trends, issues, and challenges on energy. Power supply shortages, aged distribution facilities, and high distribution loss rate are the identified standing issues in the current operation of power sector in the Bangsamoro region.

Accordingly, BARMM is dependent on hydropower considering its archipelagic nature. It has a total installed capacity of 260 megawatts which is supplied by Agus 1 and 2 located in Marawi City and Saguiaran, Lanao del Sur. Also, the BARMM is rich in natural gas based on the study that was conducted by the Department of Energy.

Arch’t. Eduard Guerra, IDCom chairperson and MPW Minister, told MENRE to conduct researches for other geothermal, hydro, and solar power source in the region which are more affordable, economical, and long lasting.

Meanwhile, the proposal for the creation of the technical working group (TWG) was approved by the sub-committee to provide technical support, update, review, and recommendation of energy development plans in the BARMM.

“The technical working group will lead the formulation of the Energy Development Plan and this will be headed by MENRE,” said Engr. Ali. (BPDA-BARMM)