BARMM’s Development Administration Committee holds first regular meeting

by Aug 25, 2021News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — The Development Administration Committee (DACom), a sectoral committee under the Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) of the Bangsamoro Government, successfully convened today, August 25 to hold this year’s first regular meeting.

Bangsamoro Director General Engr. Khalid S. Dumagay, who represented Atty. Naguib S. Sinarimbo, Committee Chairperson and Minister of the Ministry of the Interior and Local Government (MILG), presided the said meeting.

The meeting highlights the implementation of the Supreme Court’s decision on Mandanas case presented by Engr. Dumagay together with MILG Cotabato City OIC Director Muhammad Farzieh B. Abutazil.

“The Supreme Court ruled with finality that the Section 284 of RA 7160 of 1991 contravened the expressed provision of Section 6 Article X of the 1987 Constitution which explicitly mention National Taxes as source of just share of the local government unit,” Dumagay said.

Camelia N. de Vera-Dacanay, Chief of the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority’s (BPDA) Macro-economic Planning Division (MEPD) and head of DACom’s technical secretariat, presented to the Committee the Bangsamoro Development Tracker (BDT) – an interactive dashboard of the 1st Bangsamoro Development Plan 2020-2022, which was officially launched last July 22, 2021 by the Bangsamoro government in partnership with the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

Furthermore, the committee members also agreed for the designation of permanent and alternative focal representatives during regular meetings.

Other matters discussed were the proposed creation of the Bangsamoro Sub-Committee on Water and Sanitation (BSCWS) presented by Dayan Lao Ondoy of the Ministry of Health (MOH), ‘Solid Waste Management’ presented by Warda Sarip of the BPDA, and the ‘Priority Legislative Agenda’ of the BARMM for the year 2021 presented by Bea Almoite from the Chief Minister’s Office of the Cabinet Secretary (CabSec-OCM).

Present in today’s meeting were representatives from the Ministry of Human Settlements and Development (MHSD), Bangsamoro Treasury Office (BTO), Technical Management Services (TMS-OCM), Administrative Management Services (AMS-OCM), Development Academy of the Bangsamoro (DAB), Bangsamoro Darul Ifta (BDI), Commission on Audit (COA-BARMM), Commission on Elections (COMELEC-BARMM), and Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA-BARMM).

Moreover, the member ministries, offices, and agencies were reminded to submit their first semester’s accomplishment report for the year 2021 to the BPDA. (BPDA-BARMM)