BARMM’s land use committee conducts second regular meeting for 2021

by Jun 1, 2021News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — The Regional Land Use Committee (RLUC), a special committee under the Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) conducted today, June 01, its second regular meeting for the year 2021, facilitated by the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA) held at Bangsamoro Government Center in Cotabato City.

The meeting was spearheaded by Bangsamoro Director General Engr. Mohajirin T. Ali, committee co-chair and head of the technical secretariat.

In his message, Ali underscored BEDC’s approval on the resolution to include the Ministries of Trade, Investments and Tourism (MTIT) and Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs (MIPA) as additional members of the RLUC. Said resolution was discussed during the committee’s first regular meeting last February 17, 2021.

“These two ministries have vital roles in policy making, promotion of integration and physical planning as well as the assessment of change in land use and other physical resources in the region which are among the functions of the committee,” Ali stressed.

Director Eshan Karl O. Mabang of the Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Energy (MENRE) presented the Philippine’s Cadastral Survey Result. Accordingly, Cadastral Survey is a systematic survey of the whole municipality or an extensive portion for the purpose of identifying and delineating the individual claims of all landowners and claimants which will serve as basis for the issuance of title or patents.

“The objective of this program is to delineate the boundaries of all political of the country as basis for accurate Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA) and all parcels for land disposition purposes and to determine the indicative land area of the Philippines by consolidating all the approved political boundary maps,” Mabang emphasized during his presentation.

Based on record, the DENR has completed the cadastral survey of 1,634 cities and municipalities nationwide. This includes the 118 cities and municipalities of the defunct Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) and the 1,516 non ARMM cities and municipalities.

Zaiton L. Abas, Chief for Special Geographic Area (SGA) Field Office of the Ministry of Interior and Local Government (MILG), discussed the status and ways forward for the SGA, particularly the 63 barangays in North Cotabato.

Abas said that “the appointment renewal of the administrator and eight (8) cluster coordinator as well as the other personnel of the SGA-DCO; need for synergy among BARMM ministries or other operating units in program implementation to avoid duplication; clamor of BLGUs to address their concerns on financial concerns and project implementation; delineation of land areas constituting clustered political unit; and continuity on the basic services usually given by higher local government units (LGUs)” are the issues and concerns in the SGA.

Furthermore, Engr. Al Kashmir Ko presented the issues and concerns of the 63 barangays in North Cotabato on its quest for identity; the usage of two currencies, the Philippine Peso and Malaysian Ringgit in Sitangkai, Mapun, and Turtle Islands in Tawi-Tawi; Isabela de Basilan or the exclusion of Isabela City from the BARMM; the division of the province of Maguindanao into Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur through a Senate Bill creating two (2) Maguindanao provinces; and Republic Act (RA) No. 6406, known as an act dividing the province of Lanao del Sur into the province of Maranaw and Lanao del Sur which was approved on October 4, 1971.

“Soon, the RLUC members shall conduct an on-site visit to the island provinces, specifically in Sitangkai, Mapun, and Turtle Islands in Tawi-Tawi,” Ko said.Amier Amal, Chief Environment Management Specialist of MENRE, presented the salient features of RA No. 9003, known as Ecological Solid Management Act of 2000, specifically the role of the LGUs as stated in section 10 of the said Act.

“The LGUs shall be primarily responsible for the implementation and enforcement of the provisions of this Act within their respective jurisdictions. Segregation and collection of solid waste shall be conducted at the barangay level specifically for biodegradable, compostable, and reusable wastes, provided that the collection of non-recyclable materials and special wastes shall be the responsibility of the municipality or city,” Amal said as he emphasized the LGUs’ role in solid waste management.

Meanwhile, Zaiton L. Abas of the MILG moved for the creation of the Regional Solid Waste Management Sub-Committee under the RLUC. The proposed sub-committee which also include a non-member ministry of the RLUC is subject for the approval of the BEDC. (BPDA-BARMM)