BARMM’s BEDC holds first regular meeting for 2021

by Mar 31, 2021News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — The Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) successfully held on Tuesday, March 30, its first regular meeting for the year 2021 via zoom video teleconference, facilitated by the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA) at BPDA Conference Hall, Bangsamoro Government Center in this city.

This year’s first regular meeting highlighted the official oath-taking of the five (5) Private Sectors Representatives (PSRs) for 2020-2022, following the election among the nominated PSRs from the fifteen (15) accredited Private Sectors Organizations (PSOs) and the Council’s confirmation of the 5 PSRs as new sectoral members of the Council during BEDC’s regular meeting last December 29, 2020. Karlmarx L. Marrack of the Tulung Lupah Sug Inc. (TLS), Guiamel M. Alim of the Consortium of Bangsamoro Civil Society Inc. (CBCS), Zalave M. Dinas of the Mindanao for Social and Economic Progress (MOSEP), Aliah B. Adam of the Singanen O Mindanao (SOM), and Morsidin A. Husain of the United Youth for Peace and Development Inc. (UNYPAD) who won December 29’s election had finally took their oath as the Council’s new sectoral members, officiated by the BARMM Chief Minister and Council’s Chairperson Ahod B. Ebrahim via zoom video teleconference.Furthermore, the newly-elected PSRs will represent the sectors in Agriculture, Agrarian Reform, and Resources (AARNR), Governance and Institutions Development (GID), Industry, Trade and Tourism (ITT), Infrastructure Development (ID), and Social Reform and Community Development (SRCD) during BEDC’s regular meeting. Tuesday’s meeting was their first attendance as new sectoral members of the Council.

The meeting also highlighted the approved BEDC Resolution No. 11 series of 2021, “Resolution requesting Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council to include the Ministry of Finance, Budget and Management (MFBM), and the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), Cotabato Branch to the Members of the Regional Statistics Committee.” Likewise, BEDC Resolution No. 12 series of 2021,” Resolution approving the request of the Regional Land Use Committee (RLUC) to include the Ministry of Trade, Investments and Tourism (MTIT) and Ministry of Indigenous Peoples’ Affair (MIPA) as members of the RLUC” was also approved by the Council.Ruby A. Andong, Bangsamoro Director General of the Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE), presented the Supporting Innovation in Philippines Technical and Vocational Education Training System. Accordingly, a Php5 billion worth of infrastructure projects were equally distributed to the seventeen (17) TESDA Technology Institution (TTI) beneficiaries across the country including the BARMM with TTI name, Regional Manpower Development Center. Also present during the meeting were BEDC Vice-Chair and BPDA Director General Engr. Mohajirin T. Ali, SDCom Chair and MSSD Minister Atty. Raissa H. Jajurie, PPOSSCom Chair and MPOS Minister Hussein P. Muňoz, MFBM Deputy Minister Ubaida Pacasem and representatives of BTA Parliament Majority Floor Leader Atty. Lanang T. Ali, BARMM Executive Secretary and MENRE Minister Abdulraof A. Macacua, IDCom Chair and MPW Minister Arch’t. Eduard U. Guerra, EDCom Chair and MAFAR Minister Mohammad S. Yacob, DACom Chair and MILG Minister Atty. Naguib G. Sinarimbo, Lanao del Sur Provincial Governor Mamintal A. Adiong Jr., Tawi-Tawi Provincial Governor Yshmael I. Sali, and Lamitan City Mayor Rosita U. Furigay.

Meanwhile, the BEDC also known as the “Council” serves as the planning, monitoring and coordinating body for all development plans, programs, and projects of the Bangsamoro Government. Likewise, the Council is the counterpart of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Board at the national government and equivalent of the Regional Development Councils (RDCs) in the administrative regions. (BPDA-BARMM)