BEDC’s Regional Statistics Committee conducts special meeting

by Jan 18, 2021News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — The Regional Statistics Committee (RSCom) under the Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) successfully conducted Wednesday, January 13, 2021, during its first special meeting for the calendar year 2021, held at Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA) Conference Hall, Bangsamoro Government Center, this city.

The meeting was in line with the formulation of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) Regional Statistical Development Program (RSDP) 2021-2023. Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA BARMM) Statistical Specialist II Sittie Asmalia Cornell presented the overview of the BARMM Regional Statistical Development Program (RSDP) 2021-2023 including its four statistical clusters consist of Regional Statistical System which is assigned to PSA BARMM, the Social Statistics, Economic Statistics, and Environmental and Multi-Domain Statistics which are anchored to the sectoral groups of the committee.“

This program shall serve as the roadmap for the integration and coordination of statistical activities in the region. It is an instrument for identifying needed interventions and improvements in the statistical system and basis for programming and resource allocation,” Cornell said.The RSDP 2021-2023 is the regional or local counterpart of the Philippine Statistical Development Program (PSDP) which sets the directions, thrusts and priorities of the Philippine Statistical System for the generation and dissemination of statistical information used in policy and decision-making at the local level. As presented by BPDA Research and Development Division Chief Palawan Mamaon, the Resolution No. 06 Series of 2020, “Creation of a Technical Working Group for the Formulation of the BARMM Regional Statistical Development Program (RSDP) 2021-2023,” was adopted by the committee which also includes the sectoral groups and its members.

Meanwhile, the RSCom will spearhead the formulation of the program with PSA BARMM and BPDA as its executive committee. An election for the sectoral groups’ chair and vice-chair was also conducted during the meeting.Engr. Naser S. Usman, Committee Co-Chair and PSA BARMM OIC Regional Director, extended his appreciation to the committee member for their attendance, suggestions, recommendations, and reactions. Also present were the Ministries of Health (MOH), Labor and Employment (MOLE), Transportation and Communication (MOTC), Interior and Local Government (MILG), Social Services and Development (MSSD), Public Works (MPW), Agriculture, Fisheries and Agrarian Reform (MAFAR), Human Settlements and Development (MHSD), Science and Technology (MOST), Trade, Investment and Tourism (MTIT), Bangsamoro Information Office (BIO), Bangsamoro Commission for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage (BCPCH), Technical Management Services-OCM (TMS-OCM), and Bangsamoro Treasury Office (BTO). (BPDA-BARMM)