BEDC accredits PSOs, confirms new sectoral members

by Dec 29, 2020News0 comments

COTABATO CITY — The Bangsamoro Economic and Development Council (BEDC) officially accredited fifteen (15) private sector organizations (PSOs) and confirmed five (5) private sector representatives (PSRs) as new sectoral members of the council during the conduct of its second regular meeting held on Tuesday, December 29, 2020, via zoom video teleconference at BPDA conference room, Bangsamoro Government Center, this city.

BEDC Chair and BARMM Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim together with the members of the Council approved the accreditation of 15 PSOs to the BEDC’s sectoral representation and confirmation of the 5 new sectoral members.

The BEDC’s accredited PSOs are:

1Consortium of Bangsamoro Civil Society Inc. (CBCS)
2League of Bangsamoro Organizations Inc. (LBO)
3Mindanao Peoples Caucus for Peace and Solidarity Inc. (MPCPS)
4Mindanao for Social and Economic Progress (MOSEP)
5Moro Women Development and Cultural Center Inc. (MWDC)
6The Moropreneur Inc. (TMI)
7United Youth for Peace and Development Inc (UNYPAD)
8Tabang Ako Siyap Ka Bangsa Iranun Saya Ko Kalilintad Ago Ka Pamagayon Inc. (TASBIKKA)
9Zapakan Empowerment Talaynged Association Inc. (ZETA)
10Maranao People Development Center Inc. (MARADECA)
11Mindanao Center for Local Governance Inc. (MCLG)
12Provincial Women Council (PWC)
13Sarimanok Producer Cooperative (SPC)
14Singanen O Mindanao (SOM)
15Tulung Lupah Sug Inc. (TLS)

Engr. Mohajirin T. Ali, BEDC Vice Chair and Bangsamoro Director General, said the Bangsamoro Planning and Development Authority (BPDA) as the head secretariat published the announcement and invitation in the council’s official website and local newspaper and also directly sent invitations to eighty-eight (88) existing PSOs which are operating within the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

“We were able to get the feedback from all that 88. Out of 88 invited PSOs, 22 have responded. Out of the 22, 15 of them basically passed, 4 were disqualified and 3 withdrawn their application,” Ali said.

Ali emphasized through Office Order No. 17, the Screening Committee successfully conducted a pre-evaluation review and background investigation of the 15 accredited PSOs and its officers based on the guidelines and qualification criteria approved by the Council.

“We did some pre-evaluation review of the said private sector organizations. We did background investigation including their certificate of registration and their office visibility and make sure that all their offices are located within the BARMM. Then, we visited their respective offices within the region,” Ali added.

Meanwhile, the election for the 5 PSRs was simultaneously conducted among the (15) representatives of the PSOs through secret balloting facilitated by the BPDA.

Wan-Nur L. Octavio of TLS with 5 votes, Guiamel M. Alim of CBCS with 6 votes, Zalave M. Dinas of MOSEP with 6 votes, Aliah B. Adam of SOM with 8 votes, and Morsidin A. Husain of UNYPAD with 6 votes won the election for the PSRs on the proposed 5 sectoral representation in Agriculture, Agrarian Reform, and Resources (AARNR), Governance and Institutions Development (GID), Industry, Trade and Tourism (ITT), Infrastructure Development (ID), and Social Reform and Community Development (SRCD).

The result was immediately announced to the council by Engr. Mohajirin T. Ali. He further moved for a resolution for the confirmation of the PSRs to be a part of the BEDC.

“It has been moved and seconded. The 5 winners in the votation of the BEDC for the sectoral representative is hereby confirmed,” said BEDC Chair Ahod B. Ebrahim.Meanwhile, the newly-confirmed members will take their oath in the next regular meeting of the BEDC.

Also present during the meeting were Majority Floor Leader Atty. Lanang T. Ali, Minority Floor Leader Atty. Laisa M. Alamia, Executive Secretary Abdulraof A. Macacua, MPW Minister Eduard Guerra, MAFAR Minister Mohammad S. Yacob, MSSD Minister Atty. Raissa H. Jajurie, MILG Minister Atty. Naguib G. Sinarimbo, MPOS Minister Hussein P. Muňoz, and Lamitan City Mayor Rosita U. Furigay. (BPDA-BARMM)